Skip to content

florence nightingale

April 17, 2010

“So never lose an opportunity of urging a practical beginning, however small, for it is wonderful how often in such matters the mustard-seed germinates and roots itself.” ~Florence Nightingale

I made the decision a year and a half ago to acquire my master’s degree in Nursing. Not an easy feat when one has only a liberal arts degree under her belt, including the minimum amount of science courses possible; however, the more I considered the profession, the more it seemed to suit my strengths and personality.  I determinedly set out to complete the science pre-requisites required to apply to the nursing entry-level masters program and discovered, to my surprise, that despite the difficult nature of the courses I actually found them fascinating and even enjoyable.

Finally, after months of sleepless nights, stressful exams, and weepy drives to class from work (yes, sheer exhaustion makes me a bit emotional), I managed to complete the necessary classes and applied this past November to several universities. When the applications were submitted I was flooded with relief, but with the onset of the new year, nail-biting anxiety began to set in. Waiting…waiting…waaaiiiting….

To keep myself occupied in the meantime I have been reviewing a lot of the anatomy and physiology  that I learned over the past year so that I don’t forget what the knee bone is connected to…(and is it really possible, or necessary, to remember every step of glycolysis and the Krebs Cycle?). I will be posting the admissions decisions as they come in.

Leave a Reply

