Skip to content

amelia earhart

May 10, 2010

The more one does and sees and feels, the more one is able to do, and the more genuine may be one’s appreciation of fundamental things like home, and love, and understanding companionship. ~Amelia Earhart

The pseudonym for my random adventures and undertakings goes to Amelia Earhart and although my adventures don’t come anywhere near the scope of a round-the-world flight or even involve flying for that matter, I do enjoy exploring new places and I am usually willing to try new things.

Recently, I decided to run a half-marathon. This is a pretty big venture for me as I don’t really consider myself a runner.  One of my roommates in college loved to run. I hated running. Yet,  somehow I often found myself running alongside, and more often trailing far behind her, in some new, lovely spot that she had discovered.  After awhile I began to actually enjoy running, especially the running afterglow; and I even began to run on my own.

Thus began my fondness for a good long run and I have been running ever since. It serves as a workout, a stress reliever, a day starter (but more often a day ender…NOT a morning person here), and one way to enjoy the outdoors. Now, after several years of running at whatever pace for whatever distance I happen to feel up to, I’ve decided to challenge myself a little bit. Fortunately, sunny Southern California provides ample places and lovely weather in which to train for a 13.1 mile run.  I’m still deciding on the best time to run the race and debating over whether I would prefer to run in San Diego or along Monterey Bay, but perhaps I should begin with the 3-mile run required for the first day of half-marathon training.

  

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

