Skip to content

betsy ross

January 31, 2011
I can make a 5-pointed star in one snip! ~Betsy Ross

 

So, I’m a bit skeptical as to whether or not that is an actual quote from Betsy Ross. My research (and by research I mean googling “Betsy Ross quotes”), didn’t turn up very much information on the seamstress. Although, it seems to be the general consensus that she did say, “Today the American knight holds the commercial supremacy of the world.” But, since that quote has very little to do with her sewing abilities, I went with the questionable quote instead. And despite the dispute as to whether or not it was Mrs. Ross that sewed the first American flag, it seems to hold true that she does, at the very least, exist (unlike some people we’ve mentioned…ahem…Betty Crocker!) and that she in fact did sew American flags, including the stars. As it turns out, she also ran an upholstery business with her husband, which is surely indicative of a decorative eye. Perhaps, she will be referred to on that end on this blog as well.

Stars happen to be one of my favorite things. I went for a walk on the beach under a gazillion stars the other night, and  I could have stayed out till dawn just looking at the lovely night sky and listening to the crashing waves. Then I found this on etsy. Must.learn.to.crosstitch.immediately! Or, maybe I’ll just find a money tree that will lend me some cash.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

