Skip to content

january’s read: the brothers karamazov

February 2, 2011

I finished it! Okay, okay, I’ll admit, I actually started The Brothers Karamazov before January began; but although getting through the 776-page novel took some time, it was far from painful. In fact, more often than not, it was painful to put it down. I passed several evenings snuggled under my down comforter with the book, unable to close the pages and justifying myself with, “it’s only 11:30, I’ll just read one more chapter… it’s only 2:30, I’ll just read… it’s just the sun rising… uh-oh….”

Dostoevsky’s  portrayal of humanity is nothing less than masterful.  Whether the characters are making a prideful display, racked with jealousy,  or experiencing inconsolable grief, one is easily drawn into the atmosphere of their situation, swept into their emotion, and provided an eye-opening picture of human nature through the vivid descriptions and artful narration. I leave you with a few of my favorite quotes from the novel:

There are people who feel deeply but are somehow beaten down. Their buffoonery is something like a spiteful irony against those to whom they dare not speak the truth directly because of a long-standing, humiliating timidity before them.

I’m not good myself, gentlemen, that’s the thing, I’m not so beautiful myself, and therefore I had no right to consider him repulsive, that’s the thing.

So long as man remains free he strives for nothing so incessantly and so painfully as to find someone to worship.

I often went so far as to think passionately of serving mankind…and yet I am incapable of living in the same room with anyone even for two days, this I know from experience.

But why speak of tomorrow! I die just at the thought of tomorrow! Mainly of curiosity…

Leave a Reply

