Skip to content

gray skies and gray walls

February 23, 2011

Nope. This photo is not my new place. But if the owners of this inviting space would like me to live there in their stead, I would be happy to oblige. Getting my belongings in order since the move has been somewhat of a beast. Although the new house has a significantly larger square footage than the old apartment, the amount of storage space is severely lacking. I spent the past several days moving things from one box to another, moving boxes from one side of the room to another, and throwing things out left and right. But, I began to feel a glimmer of hope yesterday evening after I hung some shelves and the first spot of carpet on my bedroom floor became visible.

Soon the dreaded unpacking will be finished and I can move on to the decorating. I have been playing around with color schemes for my bedroom and bathroom (which might also have something to do with the amount of time it has taken me to unpack), and have finally landed on something I like. I chose color palettes based on the colors of things I already own (because that money tree isn’t growing in our new backyard either), and with a few pillowcases here and a shower curtain there, I’ll hopefully have a space as inviting as the one above. The primary color in both the bedroom and the bathroom? You guessed it…gray.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

