Skip to content

new specs from old focals

July 27, 2011

A while back, after an incident involving a business trip, a lost contact, and several days of interacting with blurry coworkers,  I decided that some new glasses were in order.  I read a review about Old Focals by Heather, from Life’s Nectar, and thought it might be worth a visit.  Tucked away in Old Town Pasadena, this little hole-in-the-wall shop was so much fun to browse around in. They had a wide variety of vintage eyeglasses, and the very laid back employee, strumming his guitar on a sofa in the corner, seemed to have no qualms with me trying on as many pairs as I liked, and no inhibitions in making suggestions as to which pairs, “suited my face,” or, “covered too much eyebrow.”

I tried on frames ranging from the uber cute to the utterly ridiculous. I narrowed my choices down to about half a dozen, and with the help of the store owner, I finally decided on the perfect pair: small, vintage, stylish, and complete with knowledge-enhancing superpowers. I was completely sold on the frames and on the store itself.

 

I reluctantly resisted adding an adorable pair of little round spectacles to my purchase that day; but recently, I have been considering a return trip to Old Focals for another pair of glasses (I mean, you never know when you’ll need some backup frames for your backup frames).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2011 19:11

    What a charming eye glass store!!! Kinda makes me wish I was losing my eyesight.

    • pseudonym permalink
      August 1, 2011 00:29

      It is definitely a fun store! There’s always sunglasses…

Leave a Reply

