Skip to content

don’t judge me…

August 1, 2011

But, I don’t like chocolate on my s’mores.

I stunned a group of friends with that announcement this weekend, as we were sitting around our bonfire at the beach, and they watched in horror as I squished two perfectly toasted marshmallows between graham crackers without a chocolate layer. Now don’t get me wrong; it’s not that I don’t like chocolate. It’s just that a mouthful of a thick chocolate square between warm marshmallows and crispy graham crackers doesn’t really appeal to me. And, after re-reading that last sentence I am now certain that you are judging me.

What I’m trying to say is, I would much prefer chocolate on my s’mores if the chocolate was warm and melted; and, let’s face it, it’s not easy to warm chocolate over a bonfire, unless, perhaps, you have one of these.

Over the course of the weekend, however, we tried some s’mores experiments involving a stovetop, a microwave, Reese’s peanut butter cups, and more marshmallows than I would like to admit to eating, and we found a solution. Nutella. A thick layer spread on each graham cracker, slightly warmed by the toasted marshmallows, made the perfect s’more, and solved my chocolate-less s’more dilemma. Although, in all honesty, s’mores with only marshmallows are actually pretty tasty.

And, since we are getting things out in the open, I have another confession to make: I also prefer chocolate chip cookies without the chocolate chips!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

