Skip to content

in with 2012

January 6, 2012

This post is a bit late, due to a very hectic ending to 2011, but that excuse alone appropriately sums up the year.

Looking back, 2011 may have been one of the busiest (and most difficult) years of my life. It was a year of new experiences. I learned how to surf, painted an entire room, received instruction in architectural drawing techniques, and ate a breakfast of hagelslag for an entire week.

It was a year of travel. Twelve plane flights (not including connecting flights) and one road trip, took me to Nashville, TN, Dallas, TX, Lubbock, TX, Baarlo, The Netherlands, Irving, TX, San Jose, CA, and Atlanta, GA. I spent the night in London Heathrow Airport. It was a year of upheaval. I moved twice within six months.

It was a year of tears, a year of unexpected goodbyes. It was a year of humiliation and epic disappointment, a year of constant and sometimes overwhelming heartache. However, in the words of Katharine Hepburn, “The thing about life is that you must survive. Life is going to be difficult, and dreadful things will happen. What you do is move along, get on with it, and be tough. Not in the sense of being mean to others, but being tough with yourself and making a deadly effort not to be defeated.”

And so, with the beginning of the new year, I am full of fresh hope. Hope, not so much in a year of positive circumstances to balance out the struggles of 2011, but rather in a year of being saved from defeat, saved by the life within me that endures all things and is never disappointed, and saved by the wealth of incomprehensible care and concern of those around me.

I have not yet made any New Year’s resolutions, but I’m looking forward to new experiences and further travels in 2012; and I already have my eye on a new pair of shoes!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

