Skip to content

finishing touches

June 13, 2012

I realized that after the “sneak peek” post, following my move last year, I never gave an update on how my bedroom turned out. That is primarily because, although I have gotten things organized, put away, and decorated enough so that I feel quite settled, there are some final decorative touches that I never completed. The first is artwork; I have two blank spaces still waiting to be filled. The second is an end table to sit beside my armchair. A place to set my hot tea, or conveniently leave the latest book I’m reading. Currently serving as an end table is an unmarked cardboard box, which, although it serves the purpose, is a little bit of an eyesore.

One major hindrance to my actually acquiring an end table, is that I am picky. Maybe a little too picky. The other hindrance is that I am somewhat indecisive. As soon as I see one table that I am sure is perfect, I see something else that appeals to me just as much. I own a mid-century modern dresser, so for a while I considered a matching end table, but after scouring decorating blogs and magazines (which may be the root of the problem), I decided that I prefer to mix and match furniture items. I also discovered that I often gravitate towards pieces with an industrial feel.

Take a look at some of my considerations after the jump. Any opinions or suggestions are welcome!

My living space is extremely small, so I’ve also considered a small bookcase or a steel file cabinet as options, for the sake of functionality. But then I’ll come upon a simple table (like one of Ariele’s), so lovely that I’m happy to throw functionality to the wind. By the way, if you have time to check out one thing on her blog, you have got to see the wall of her workshop. She made it herself out of eucalyptus leaves. Incredible!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    June 13, 2012 22:50

    Love the bird tray! I can’t tell what color your armchair is. Is it blue? Also look at my cute stuff board on pinterest, I found two tables that made me think of you.

    • June 13, 2012 23:20

      Thanks! Will do. The chair is kinda gray-ish blue. It looks darker in the picture than it actually is.

Leave a Reply

