Skip to content

apartment 9 diaries: day 3 and 4

March 27, 2013

First of all, if I turn into a piece of fried chicken (or die of a heart attack) before this project is finished, you shouldn’t be surprised. My new apartment complex is right next to a Kentucky Fried Chicken. So close, in fact, that you smell it every time you go in and out of the apartment. I’m not gonna lie, I’ve had fried chicken for dinner every night this week. And did you know that their honey packets are only seven percent real honey!? It’s actually called honey sauce on the packet, and the primary ingredient is high fructose corn syrup! It tastes amazing, but like I said, heart attack. Anyway, now that I’ve either completely grossed you out, or made you crave fried chicken, I’ll get back to the real reason for this post.

painting walls

I finally got around to the fun part of my project…painting! So far I’ve done two coats of white paint in the bathroom, and I also moved into my bedroom, where I painted one gray accent wall. I’ll post pictures of the finished product as soon as the paint is dry, but so far the walls are looking pretty good.

The best part though, is my bathroom countertop. I don’t think it gets much worse as far as ugly goes. It is hideous. So I spent the past few days researching countertops, and ways to update a laminate countertop. I found tons of ideas. It is amazing what people on a budget come up with to make their homes look nice. So using various tips and suggestions, I also made an attempt to transform my bathroom countertop. I’ll give more details later on exactly what I did, but I am thrilled with the results. The countertop already looks a hundred times better than it did before, and I’m not even finished!

My housemate came in for a peek at what I was working on and made the comment, “Wow! It looks so much different than before, it looks…happy!”

And I was.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 5, 2014 14:33

    hehe KFC- they do have the best mashed potatoes- don’t they? its amazing what a little paint and elbow grease to do to a place

Leave a Reply

